Inked Avenue Reviews… “Collecting The Pieces” by L.A. Fiore

//Collecting the Pieces by L.A. Fiore//

4 Feathers - correct one - Copy

Heartbreak and happiness, nail biting suspense, and spellbinding delicious toe curling chemistry, Collecting the Pieces by L.A. Fiore was everything I expected but nothing like I expected at the same time. It held all the emotional elements of a heartbreaking tearjerker, all the steamy heart melting scenes of a romance novel, but I wasn’t expecting a mystery. Needless to say I was more than satisfied with my first read from L.A. Fiore.

In the first section of the book Sidney is a lost soul. After being left on the steps of a hospital as a baby, she bounced around from foster home to foster home searching for that picture perfect family. You know the one… loving mother and father, a brother or sister who enjoyed her company, and maybe a dog, but what she got was nothing like she dreamed.That is until she met Jake. Her white knight. Her Romeo. Her hearts true love. He was the man that saved her and showed her what an amazing person she is and was meant to be. I loved Jake. He was that great guy not only on paper but in person. He had a good head on his shoulders, he was determined, and loved Sidney with his heart and soul. Their love was simple and sweet and everything one hopes for when they find love. He was her perfect first love.

I knew it was coming, I saw from a mile away, but I was still not prepared for the loss. From that point on the whole dynamic of the book changed and felt like a completely different novel, which I think shows off the talent of this author. After a loss such as that, everything about life changes. Yourself, your outlook on life, the people around you, and your loved ones so it would only make sense that the tone of the novel would change as well. Fiore did a great job capturing the Sidney’s grief and how after many years one can still cling to loved ones.

Looking for a fresh start, Sidney and her best friend Rylee move to Wyoming to take over a veterinary clinic for the local town and it’s there that she meets Abel. Able is the alpha male with a troubled soul and a heart of gold every girl falls for. His energy is magnetic and when Sidney lays eyes on him for the first time the air seemed to crackle and her whole world shifted. He is the complete opposite of Jake in every way possible. He’s cocky and possessive but also sweet, loving and caring, I fell for him right away. When the two share a page you could cut the sexual tension with a knife and when they finally get together it is hot, hot, HAWT! And being that the novel is told in dual POV, we get to be inside his head and read his inner thoughts and his struggle to make Sidney his. Sidney deserved that second chance at love and Abel was the perfect man for the job.

So why not five stars? Well I felt like the secondary characters, at some points, were focused on more than the main characters and plot of the novel and it was somewhat distracting. Don’t get me wrong, I loved learning about them, but I felt like it took away from delving deeper into Sidney and Abel’s story.

I truly did enjoy reading this book and will definitely be on the look out for the next L.A. Fiore novel.

XX,

Jennifer


collecting-the-pieces-print-for-web-2Synopsis: 

At fifteen I fell in love. His name was Jake Stephens and he took the abandoned, lonely girl I had been and made me whole. His love was a pure and unconditional love that made every day better than the last…a fairy tale of my very own.

But this story isn’t about Jake. It’s about Abel Madden; the man I meet after the fairy tale goes to hell. A cocky, arrogant man who says what he wants, does as he pleases, and makes no excuses for it. He irritates me—downright pisses me off at times—but he also brings me back to life.

My name is Sidney Ellis and this is my story of finding love twice—the first when I needed it most and the second when I never saw it coming.

Collecting the Pieces is a standalone Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense novel with no cliffhanger.
Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

unnamed


//Author Bio//

L.A. Fiore is the author of several books including: Beautifully Damaged, Waiting for the One and His Light in the Dark. She’s also the social secretary for her two children, a tamer of ill-mannered cats, the companion to one awesome dog and married to her best friend. She likes her wine red, her shrimp chilled and her social gatherings small and intimate.

Leave a Reply

