Inked Avenue Reviews… “Dark Hearts” by Micalea Smeltzer

//Dark Hearts by Micalea Smeltzer//

5 Feathers

An unexpected quiet intensity that sinks deep into your soul and touches your heart. Dark Hearts is about two characters  that find solace and acceptance in one another after being shattered by the hands life has dealt with them. Both hiding from the world by fading into the shadows and running from the past. Dark Hearts is the third novel in the Light in the Dark Series and holds the darkest stories but shines the brightest out of the three.

“I see you. I always have.”

Page after page, the intense and passionate words Micalea Smeltzer wrote made me fall deeper in love with Jace and Nova’s story. Honestly, this is the best writing I’ve seen from Micalea and it’s also the best novel of the series. After the countless books I’ve read, I’ve found that my favorite novels are the ones that hold damaged and broken characters for two reasons. One, because those books are filled with heart stopping and breathtaking angst and a slow burning passion. Two, because the backstories of the main characters are the most interesting, raw, and real. Dark Hearts holds both of these qualities and has quickly jumped to my one of my must reads of 2017.

dark-hearts-teaserWe originally met Jace and Nova in Rae of Sunshine, Cade and Rae’s story, and from the moment they were introduced they immediately grabbed the readers attention, well mine anyway, and immediately grabbed each other’s attention. The chemistry between the two, in Dark Hearts, is undeniable and it was only a matter of time before their slow burning romance was going to combust. That Polaroid scene was one of the most affectionate, moving, caring, and all-consuming scenes I’ve ever read. I get chills just thinking about it. You’ll know when you get there. Trust me.

If you haven’t already, One Click this truly original and heart-warming novel. It completely entrances you. Making the world fall away with nothing but Jace, Nova and their quiet, intense, and hilarious bubble.

p.s. check out the AMAZING book trailer for Dark Hearts!

XX,

Jennifer


dark-hearts-cover-revealSynopsis:

I’ve learned that not everything is what it seems. If you start to look too close, you uncover things people don’t want you to see. It’s why I hide. It’s why no one knows the real me. But he sees me. He sees the darkness in my heart but he’s not afraid, because he’s like me. They say opposites attract, but we’re proof that like-and-like are a far more potent combination.

Novalee Clarke is hiding from a past she wants to leave behind, and Jacen Kensington is running from his.

The thing about hiding and running is eventually the thing you’re trying to escape catches up to you.

And when it does?

It changes everything.

//Buy Links//

US: http://amzn.to/2jkx9s3

UK: http://amzn.to/2iVLfMQ

CA: http://amzn.to/2jkAIOZ

AU: http://amzn.to/2jm3EFJ

B&N: http://bit.ly/2jm36Qf

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2jmbCyQ

iBooks: http://apple.co/2jx7ERo


//Author Bio//

unnamed

Hi. I’m Micalea. Ma-call-e-uh. Weird name, I know. My mom must’ve known I was going to be odd even in the womb. I’ve written a lot of books. Like a lot. Don’t ask me how many, I don’t remember at this point. I have an unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke but I can’t seem to break the habit. I listen to way too much music and hedgehogs have taken over my life. Crazy is the word that best sums up my life, but it’s the good kind of crazy and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

Leave a Reply

