Inked Avenue Reviews… “Heartless” by Winter Renshaw

Heartless by Winter Renshaw

4.5 Feathers - correct one - Copy

One rainy afternoon Adelaide “Aidy” Kincaid was strolling down Lexington Avenue on a dreary Monday morning when a storm hit and the rain starts falling in sheets. She takes shelter under a front porch of a townhouse, and it’s there that she finds a leather-bound journal buried in the dirt and laying beside the stone steps. What’s a girl to do? Return the journal to the owner? Or… take it home and read all the juicy secrets written within the pages? Hmmmm…

After reading the journal she falls smitten with the writer of the beautiful hand written pages, and how he loves a woman he can never have.

“I’ve never been so simultaneously exalted and gutted, and at times, I find myself nearly falling in love with a complete stranger. Or the idea of him, rather. Or maybe I’m falling in love with the way he loves her.” 

“My only hope is someday I might find someone to love me half as much as this man loves this woman.”

The book begins with Aidy discussing with her sister, Wren, whether or not to return the journal. Her sister wins the argument and Aidy decides to return it.When Aidy and Ace meet for the first time it’s anything thing but pleasant, and ends with insults, glares, and promises to never lay eyes on one another again, however, fate has other ideas. Chance encounters, misunderstandings, a bit of mystery, witty back and forth, and a sweet but sexy slow burn; it’s only a matter of time before these two are falling into each others arms.

Alessio Amato, Ace, is a broken soul who is bitter from the heartbreaking trials life has thrown his way. Nursing a shattered heart and dealing with a career ending injury, to anyone on the street, Ace would seem like a heartless shell of a man. He is moody, never cracks a smile, and chooses to stay closed off from the world. That is until a beautiful blonde shows up on his doorstep determined to return a journal that he swears he has never seen before. She slowly shatters his tarnished heart and makes him want to be a better man. A stronger man. I instantly fell baseball cap over cleats for this closet romantic. He his my favorite type of man to read about and the fact that he is sporting a beard just made him hotter. I adored reading how he went from a character who lost everything he knew about himself and the people he loved, to a man who learns how to pick up the pieces of his heart and start over. There is something truly inspiring about characters like these. Also, the way he falls for Aidy is swoon worthy and resonates deep in your soul. However, desperately trying to learn from past mistakes, he holds back with the fear of pushing her away.

heartless 2

Aidy is truly a shining star in Ace’s world of darkness. She is a sassy breath of fresh air, and is exactly what Ace needs to knock him out of his world of shadows and despair. The deep love she possesses for her sister and nephew  was both heartwarming and hilarious. Not only does she have outer beauty, but her inner beauty shines bright and can make anyone feel like a million bucks. You see this with how she cares for her family, how she offers support to her clients, and the way in which she loves Ace.

With out knowing it, Ace and Aidy are the perfect match for each other. Where Ace is intense and harsh, Aidy is carefree and kind. Where Aidy follows her heart, Ace is the voice of reason. What started out as two souls battling each other, ends up with two people falling deeply and madly in love. But the mystery of who the journal, filled with a tortured love story, belongs to still hangs in the balance. Leaving Aidy selfishly hoping  that it doesn’t belong to Ace. Only time will tell with this novel.

Heartless was flawlessly written and instantly swept me away with it’s unique love story. It combines a free-spirited independent romantic with a strong-silent, brooding, bearded hunk of a man, and I ate it up like a fat kid eating cupcakes.The only complaint I have is that it left me wanting more which is why I gave it four and a half feathers. I wanted more details and for the scenes to stretch out over the span of multiple chapters because I never wanted this story to end. However, even though it was a quick read, nothing in the plot felt rushed or unexplained. The story line flowed beautifully and was filled with mystery, and memorable characters that left a mark on my heart. Don’t pass this one up. It’s amazing!

XX,

Jennifer


Heartless - Winter RenshawSynopsis:

My obsession was born of innocence and good intentions, and it began the day I spotted a handwritten journal lying in the bushes outside a townhouse on Lexington Avenue. It was raining sideways that morning, and my intention was to return it the next day; safe and dry.

Only I kept it.
I kept it, and I read it.

A week later, overwhelmed with curiosity and feeling guilty for harboring secrets that didn’t belong to me, I tried to return it.

Only I wasn’t expecting to meet him.

Unapologetically heartless and enigmatically sexy, he claims he knows nothing about the journal I found outside his place, but the reticent glint in his blue-green gaze tells me otherwise.

There’s something different about him; something damaged yet magical, and I’m drawn to him; pulled into his orbit.

There’s just one problem.

The more I get to know him, the more I’m positive the journal belonged to him . . .

. . . and the more I find myself hoping, selfishly, that I’m wrong.

>>Amazon<<


>> Author Bio <<

B1UwGRXEY8S._UX250_

Wall Street Journal and #1 Amazon bestselling author Winter Renshaw is a bona fide daydream believer. She lives somewhere in the middle of the USA and can rarely be seen without her trusty Mead notebook and ultra portable laptop. When she’s not writing, she’s living the American Dream with her husband, three kids, and the laziest puggle this side of the Mississippi.

Leave a Reply

