Inked Avenue Reviews… “Sacrifice” by Adriana Locke

Sacrifice by Adriana Locke

♥♥♥♥♥

I LOVE CREW GENTRY!!
*deep breath*
Sorry had to get that out before I start my review. He is just so perfect!
Okay, here we go…
Wow! This book is just…. It’s beautiful. Brutal but beautiful. This is my second book to read from Adriana Locke and it’s by far my favorite. My emotions were spiraling out of control the entire time. Sacrifice intrigues you from chapter one; then grabs your attention in the middle and keeps a vice-like grip on your heart up until the very end where it completely destroys you. I cried both happy and sad tears while submerged in the inked pages of Sacrifice. I never wanted it to end, but at the same time, I needed it to end because of how heavy and emotionally draining the story is.

Julia Gentry’s world was shattered two years ago after her husband died. Now, a widow and a single mother, Julia is struggling to pick up the pieces of her broken life. This proves to be a challenge in itself when the last man on the earth she wants to see, makes it a point to take care of her and her daughter. This is just the tip of the iceberg of problems to come for this little family.

Crew Gentry is a short-tempered man with a broken heart. After walking away from the only woman he has ever loved, he returns home to find her in the arms of another. The arms of her brother. He walks away again because he feels he’s not good enough for her and she deserves better. However, after a tragic accident that nearly kills him and obliterates his dreams, Crew spirals out of control leaving his family in shambles. Weighted down by guilt and sorrow, Crew, will go the distance and man the f*ck up to make things right while making the ultimate sacrifice.

Julia and Crew’s story is a slow burn. (My favorite kind of story). They were each other’s past love. A love neither one has truly gotten over. But life and past grievances keep them apart until they are forced to lean on another for strength. They go from barely speaking two words to each other, just simply tolerating one another for Everleigh’s sake, to passionate lovers. But stronger this time out, willing to fight any and every battle together.

Crew was a man on a mission and when the time called for it, he maned the f*ck up to be the solid rock his family needed. And, can we talk about how cute he was around Everleigh? I LOVED their relationship.
*places hand over heart*
*dreamy sigh*

Julia was shattered and broken on the floor, never truly forgiving Crew for his mistakes, but in her greatest time of need, she has a change of heart. She finally lets herself believe in hope and love again.

This novel is raw, uncut, and absolutely amazing. It’s a story filled with love, loss, passion, friendship (Will! <3), suspense, and action. It’s an unforgettable story that had me crying like a baby and covering my mouth and eyes during intense moments. You don’t want to miss this one!!

 

 

~FAVORITE QUOTES~
“I hope she can see that I’ve loved her since the day I f*cking saw her. I hope she can see that I will love her ‘till the day I die.”
_Crew Gentry

“We are in this together. For as long as I live, every battle you face is mine, too. And I promise you,” I say, leaning in like I’m telling her a secret, “I’m one helluva fighter.”
_Crew Gentry

“Going home. I like having us in one spot. I like it when he comes in my room and thinks I’m asleep and kisses my forehead. He always whispers a little prayer and then tells me to fight. It makes me feel happy.”
_Everleigh Gentry

“Mommy,” she says. Her tone halts me. My eyes rise to meet hers. “Everything is going to be okay. I know it.”
_Everleigh Gentry

“If I could stop time, I’d do it now.”
_Crew Gentry

“I see the forgiveness for how I’ve treated him in the past and the promise of a future. Most importantly, I see my love reflected back.”
_Julia

“It’s easy to be a man when you are the man, when life is easy and you’re sh*tting roses. But the true test of a man is how he handles things when life gets tough.”
_Sal


Synopsis:

USA Today Bestselling novel

My life changed forever the night my husband died.
I was left with a shattered heart, a heap of bills, and our daughter, EVERLEIGH. I don’t want to rely on anyone, least of all CREW GENTRY. He’s my first love and the man who almost destroyed me, the man who has let me down every time I’ve needed him.
But when tragedy strikes a second time, Crew just might be my only hope.

My life changed forever the night my brother died.
I was left with a guilty conscience, a pile of mistakes, and little else. I take care of JULIA GENTRY, my brother’s widow and the love of my life, and their daughter. I know she doesn’t want my help, but she gets it anyway. I owe her that.

When another disaster hits, I’m given the opportunity to make things right. I’m taking it. I’m willing to sacrifice it all


A U T H O R   B I O

USA Today and Amazon Top 10 Bestselling author Adriana Locke lives and breathes books. After years of slightly obsessive relationships with the flawed bad boys created by other authors, Adriana has created her own.

She resides in the Midwest with her husband, sons, and two dogs. She spends a large amount of time playing with her kids, drinking coffee, and cooking. You can find her outside if the weather’s nice and there’s always a piece of candy in her pocket.

Please contact Adriana at www.adrianalocke.com. She loves to hear from readers.

Goodreads Group: All Locked Up

Twitter: @AuthorALocke
IG: @authoradrianalocke
Facebook: /authoradrianalocke
Pinterest: /authoradrianalo

Leave a Reply

