Inked Avenue Reviews… “The Summer Games: Out of Bounds” by R.S. Grey

//The Summer Games: Out of Bounds by R.S. Grey//

“Guys, first off,” Lexi said. “Our coach is f*cking hot.”

Isn’t that the understatement of the decade?

18989295

 

Hot doesn’t even begin to describe the latest novel by R.S. Grey. I give it five fiery feathers. Out of Bounds is, to date, R.S. Grey’s steamiest novel.

5 Feathers

It’s bold.

It’s maddening.

It’s alluring.

It’s. Freaking. Hilarious!! {Lexi}

It’s heartbreaking.

It’s heartwarming.

Basically it’s everything I love about reading an R.S. Grey novel; however, this time we get a taste of the dark side with this enemies-to-lovers story. From the start, the odds are stacked against Erik and Brie. First off he’s team USA’s newest gymnastics coach looking to prove to the USGA and his family that he’s worthy of this position. She’s a gymnast on the team who is looking to pursue her one goal in life, to make it to the Olympics and take home six gold medals. Yes, you read that right. SIX! Second, gantlets were thrown the first time they met, and lines were drawn that were soon to be blurred by heated glances, the constant back and forth of verbal lashings, and some seriously HAWT, fan your face look around to see if anyone can read your screen, bedroom scenes. Which was almost always anywhere else but in the bed room… Add in a constant power struggle, age difference, and the media watching your every move and you have the makings of one intriguing story.

tumblr_mwsvsqvp5z1svyu8oo9_500

 

“I was playing with fire – no, I wasn’t just playing with fire; I was rolling in it. I was so confident I wouldn’t get burned, I didn’t realize how deep into the flames I’d fallen.”

These two, seriously, bring out the worst in each other. Their relationship is basically non-existent, they are constantly battling for control, and continuously pushing each other away while trying to hold tight to one another. They are both flawed and broken, weighted down by insecurities and demons from their past that have molded and shaped them into the person they are today. They are so alike that it was always a challenge for the other to back down, and rarely did, but all these elements are what made their story so interesting, dark, and passionate.

While Erik was the alpha male of every girl’s fantasies… tall, tan, built, dark hair, piercing blue eyes, strong jaw line, need I go on? He was, at times, extremely controlling and could be downright cruel to Brie. I cannot count how many times I wanted to slap him in the face for the way he spoke to her or when he let her down. But at the same time he cared for her and was confused by his feelings for her, and didn’t quite know how to handle them. Brie, on the other hand, was a very likable character strong willed and disciplined with a good head on her shoulders. However, her age would show through immature childish antics that were somewhat annoying. Also, she was such a strong character that when she didn’t demand respect or for Erik to fight for her, I would want to yell at my kindle. But, I mean, it was Erik Winter so… What would you do? It was so frustrating to read, but I loved it!! Even with the odds stacked against them they were each other’s perfect match.

Not only did R.S. Grey deliver an amazing yet toxic romance, she created amazing secondary characters that served as the voice of reason, Rosie or Molly, and comic relief in the form of Lexi! From the second Lexi appeared on the page I loved her. She is that best friend you have that you wish you could be more like. You know the one that speaks her mind, does what she wants when she wants, and is fiercely protective of her friends and family. She is definitely one of my favorite characters in the book. Also, I loved how Grey focused on the team’s training and how focused and prepared the athletes are when going into competition, and how much pressure they put on themselves to be the best they can be. It added to the mood and tension of the novel.

The Summer Games: Out of Bounds is, without a doubt, this summer’s hottest read. From the intense sexual tension from two strong willed characters who refuse to be the first to fall. To the cut throat competition of the Olympic Games this book has it all and entices you in from page one. R.S. Grey has done it again with this mischievous novel and I can’t wait to see what she throws at us next.

XX,

Jennifer


Out of Bounds - R.S. Grey

Synopsis:

I despise Erik Winter.

He’s arrogant and cruel—a man I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy—and by some twisted turn of fate, he’s my new Olympic gymnastics coach.

I’ve had to contend with gruff coaches in the past, but Erik is far worse. His stern demeanor complements a body built for intimidation, and his reprimands come from a mouth so cunning, I know it could strip me of my defenses—if I let it.

Though each of us would love to be rid of the other forever, we are bound to each other by need and necessity. I’m his rising star, his best shot at proving himself to his critics. And without a coach, I have zero chance of winning gold in Rio.

The easiest way forward would be to wave a white flag and make peace with the man I’ll be sharing close quarters with for the foreseeable future, but he is intent on war.

Fine. By. Me.

If he pushes me, I’ll push back harder. If he wants to test me, to play with my head, I’ll show him just how many boundaries I’m willing to cross. Because I know it’s not a choice between winning or warring—not if you can have them both. At the end of it all, I plan on leaving Rio with gold around my neck and his icy heart in the palm of my hand.

>> http://amzn.to/2aJbcQN <<<

>> http://rsgrey.com/the-summer-games-out-of-bounds-playlist/ <<<


>> Author Bio <<

51vpxhxNA+L._UX250_I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way, I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.
I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors include Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.
Leave a Reply

