14 Swoon-worthy Novels + The Perfect Valentine’s Day Playlist and Holiday Traditions

be-my-valentine-inked-avenue

Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching so in honor of the holiday where I binge eat waaaayy to much chocolate and spend my day either watching slasher flicks or reading yet another contemporary romance novel… I’ve put together a list of the most swoon-worthy, heart racing, passionate, and angst filled novels I could think of. Also, just for you, at the end of this amazing list of novels I’ve made a Valentine’s Day playlist of some of my favorite songs to jam to… AND… I’ve also added a list of my favorite slasher movies to watch on the most romantic day of the year. To start off I’m throwing it back to the #OriginalBookBoyfriend and the novel that started it all…

 

BEAUTIFUL DISASTER by JAMIE McGUIRE

jmc_beautifuldisaster_cover-e1333664180331The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand. Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.


THE MONDAY GIRL {THE GIRL DUET PART 1} by JULIE JOHNSON

32320338Katharine Firestone is a bit of a mess.

Between an acting career that’s never quite made lift-off to stardom, a pathetic love life of online-dating-app losers, and a maxed-out balance on every one of her credit cards, things can’t get much worse. So, when she’s plucked from relative obscurity to land a lead role in Hollywood’s next big blockbuster, Kat is sure she’s finally on the right track.

Until she meets her co-star, Grayson Dunn… and all her plans are completely derailed.

Grayson is everything you’d expect the hottest actor alive to be — charming, disarming, and cocky as hell. As their characters slowly spiral into love on screen, Kat struggles to keep herself from falling for real. She knows handing Grayson her heart and expecting him not to break it would be the biggest mistake of her life. Yet the deeper she’s immersed in his glamorous world, the more blurred the boundaries between scripted affection and sincere passion become… and the harder it is to deny that their on-camera chemistry has crescendoed into a behind-the-scenes love affair…

What happens when you fall for someone who’s guaranteed to shatter you into pieces? Do you walk away? Or do you let him break you because, even broken, there’s simply no way you can’t stay?


THE SOMEDAY GIRL {THE GIRL DUET PART 2} by JULIE JOHNSON

32987700The movie has wrapped, but the drama is just getting started…

Katharine Firestone finally has everything she’s ever wanted — new house, new car, new status as a Hollywood A-lister. And yet, she’s never felt more isolated. As the movie premiere creeps closer, Kat spends her days playing an infatuated co-star for the press tour cameras, and her nights wondering what the hell she’s going to do to fix the mess she’s made out of her personal life.

One broken girl.
Two heart-stopping men.
One impossible decision.

Torn between the heartbreaker she tried to avoid and the man she never saw coming, Kat will be forced to answer the ultimate question: Do we get a say when it comes to choosing our soulmate?

Love. Lust. Passion. Paparazzi. The road to fame and fortune is never easy. And, in the City of Angels, the only place they guarantee a happily-ever-after is in the movies…


DARK HEARTS {LIGHT IN THE DARK BOOK 3} by MICALEA SMELTZER

31366491I’ve learned that not everything is what it seems. If you start to look too close, you uncover things people don’t want you to see. It’s why I hide. It’s why no one knows the real me. But he sees me. He sees the darkness in my heart but he’s not afraid, because he’s like me. They say opposites attract, but we’re proof that like-and-like are a far more potent combination.

Novalee Clarke is hiding from a past she wants to leave behind, and Jacen Kensington is running from his.

The thing about hiding and running is eventually the thing you’re trying to escape catches up to you.

And when it does?

It changes everything.


A LOVE LETTER TO WHISKEY by KANDI STEINER

31549837It’s crazy how fast the buzz comes back after you’ve been sober for so long.

Whiskey stood there, on my doorstep, just like he had one year before. Except this time, there was no rain, no anger, no wedding invitation — it was just us.

It was just him — the old friend, the easy smile, the twisted solace wrapped in a glittering bottle.

It was just me — the alcoholic, pretending like I didn’t want to taste him, realizing too quickly that months of being clean didn’t make me crave him any less.

But we can’t start here.

No, to tell this story right, we need to go back.

Back to the beginning.

Back to the very first drop.

This is my love letter to Whiskey. I only hope he reads it.


COLD HEARTED by WINTER RENSHAW

33619673I wish I could say our meeting was happenstance.

I wish I could say we took one look and we just knew.

I wish I could say falling for him was the best thing that ever happened to me.

But none of that would be true.

Rhett Carson was as cold as the ice on which he skated. He was as calloused as the hands that shot the goals that won world championships. He was also damaged. And broken. And he didn’t know it, but I knew all about him … and his unfortunate connection with my estranged older brother.

I knew why he was so bitter and angry.

I knew why he was so cold hearted.

But I didn’t know why I let myself fall in love with him.

And I didn’t know why I couldn’t stop–even when he told me to.

But when the truth came out, I knew I’d lost him for good … until he came back, more cold hearted than ever before.


A THOUSAND LETTERS by STACI HART

cover-642x1024-1Release Date: Feb 9

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey brought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*


THAT BOY by JILLIAN DODD

16168721 Fall in love with the boy next door in this sweet romance by USA Today Bestselling Author, Jillian Dodd.

You know, being friends with two cute boys does have its benefits.

There’s Danny. Danny is a golden boy in every way. He has dreamy blue eyes and blonde hair that always looks perfect, even when it’s windblown or been stuck under a football helmet. He’s the boy every girl crushes on. The boy I get into trouble with, the boy I fight with, the hot quarterback no girl can resist. Being with Danny is like being on an adventure. He has a bright, contagious smile and abs to die for.

Equally crush-worthy is Phillip. Adorable, sweet Phillip, who I have known since birth.  Phillip has dark hair, a perfect smile, brown eyes, and the sexiest voice I have ever heard. He’s the boy I talk to every night before I go to sleep. The boy who rescues me, the boy who can read my mind, the boy who is always there for me, the boy who tries to keep me out of trouble, the boy who irritatingly keeps getting hotter, and whose strong arms always seem to find their way around me.  And when he gives me that grin, I can never say no.

One boy will give me my very first kiss.
One boy will teach me to make out.
One boy will take me to prom.
And, finally, one boy will ask me to marry him.
They will both be my best friends.
But only one of them will be the boy I fall in love with.
Only one of them is That Boy.

*This is a story about friendships that span from grade school through college, and there is no love triangle.


NOT YOU IT’S ME {A BOSTON LOVE STORY BOOK 1} by JULIE JOHNSON

29595981Gemma Summers is unlucky in love.
She’s known it since third grade, when her first crush blew a spitball into her hair, and a decade-long string of bad dates, boring sex, and abysmal morning-afters has done nothing to improve her prospects.
But when a random radio call-in contest lands her courtside tickets to the hottest playoff game of the season, Gemma’s luck may finally be on the upswing — even if it doesn’t exactly seem like it when the dreaded jumbotron kiss-cam lands on her and her date, who’s too busy ignoring her to notice…

Chase Croft doesn’t date.
Despite ample opportunity as Boston’s most eligible bachelor, the reformed bad-boy would rather put his energy into taking over the family business than weed through a world of gold-diggers to find an honest woman.
But when the beautiful girl in the seat next to him becomes a courtside spectacle at the hands of her loser boyfriend, he can’t help but step in and save the day.

One kiss. Two strangers. No strings attached.
The only problem is, Chase is used to getting whatever he wants. And after kissing Gemma once, he knows one thing…
He wants more.


SWEET CHEEKS by K. BROMBERG

30291914An all new second chance love story by the New York Times Bestselling author of the Driven series.

It all started with the invitation. To my ex-fiance’s new wedding.

I should have ignored it. Thrown it away. Set it afire. But I didn’t. I replied.

With a plus one.

And then my assistant accidentally mailed it.

Enter Hayes Whitley. Mega-movie star. The man who has captured the hearts of millions. But I gave him mine years ago. He was my first love. He was my everything. Right until he up and left to chase his dreams without so much as a simple goodbye.

When he showed up out of the blue ten years later, I should have known to steer clear of him. I should have rejected his offer to take me to my ex’s wedding. I should have never let him kiss me.

But I didn’t.

And now we’re left wondering if the pieces of the life we once shared still fit together somehow. First loves are hard to forget. The question is, do we want to forget? Or do we risk the chance and see what happens next?


BOYCOTTS & BARFLIES by VICTORIA MICHAELS

61n2srdufslAfter an endless string of bad dates and a generally pathetic love life, Grace Park and her friends decide to boycott men for six weeks. With a fantastic pair of shoes on the line for the woman who makes it to the end without breaking any rules, the competition gets fierce. Sparks fly a few days into the bet when Grace and her friends cross paths with a sexy bartender named Michael Andris who happens to have a little bet of his own going with his friends….In this hilarious debut novel, Victoria Michaels brings us a colorful and relatable cast of characters. She sends them on a sweet and sexy escapade as they sidestep one booby trap after another, manage the best of misguided intentions, and exert a whole lot of willpower and self control as they race down the path to true love. Winning isn’t everything…or is it?


WITH A TWIST {A BAD HABITS NOVEL} by STACI HART

25896141Love is somewhere near the bottom of Lily Thomas’ list of life goals, right next to competitive eating and underwater cave diving. She’s spent six years pirouetting and pliéing her way up the ranks of the New York Ballet with her eye on the prize and love in the back seat. But now that Blane Baker — Lily’s long time crush — is finally single, she’ll throw her rules out the window without thinking twice.

Reality with Blane isn’t as epic as the fantasy she imagined, and the truth sends her spinning straight into the arms of the man she never knew she’d always wanted.

West Williams has been friends with Lily since the day she moved into their building and he saved her armoire from a swift, sudden death by staircase. Their friendship has always been easy, the boundaries clearly defined. With neither of them willing to risk their relationship, they’ve drifted happily through the years as companions, never considering more.

That is, until they do. And that realization changes everything.

With a Twist is a standalone romantic comedy and part of the Bad Habits series.


HAPPENSTANCE {BOOK ONE} by JAMIE McGUIRE

happenstance#1 New York Times Bestseller Jamie McGuire returns to self-publishing with this page-turning YA account of Erin Easter, one of three Erins in the small senior class of rural Blackwell High School who not only share a first name, but also their birthday. Easter, raised by a neglectful single mom, keeps to herself and admires Weston Gates from afar. The other Erins, Erin “Alder” Alderman and Erin “Sonny” Masterson are the darlings of the community: daughters of the two wealthiest families in town, best friends, cheerleaders, and everything Easter isn’t–and they never let her forget it. Alder has even claimed Weston since the 8th grade.

Weston is a well-liked star athlete, and the son of two prominent attorneys. He struggles daily with the pressures of living up to his family name and secretly empathizes with Easter’s feeling that she belongs somewhere else; in a different life. Not until he begins sneaking nights out with Easter does he gain the courage to buck expectations and acknowledge his feelings … both for his future, and for her.

A shocking tragedy rocks the tiny town, and Easter’s life is turned upside down in the best way possible. But when the truth is revealed and everything she thinks she wanted falls into her lap, life only becomes more complicated.

Happenstance: A Novella Series (Part One) is an USA TODAY best seller!


SOUTHERN DESIRE {SOUTHERN HEART #2} by KAYLEE RYAN

51a1vow4wwl-_sy346_After experiencing heartache and loss, Whitney decides it’s time to move on and leave the past behind, while keeping the pain with her. Finding her way to Kentucky to be with family, she’s finally settling and feeling some happiness. She meets Aaron and he’s slowly showing her how to live again. But, what Aaron doesn’t know, is the deep secret she’s keeping from him.

Aaron doesn’t believe in spending time with women he doesn’t see a future with. Love, to him was black and white, until Whitney found her way into his life.

She’s his one and he’s her strength.

The overshadowing secret plaguing Whitney’s mind drivers her away, leaving Aaron and everyone she met behind.

Will Aaron find his way to Whitney again?

Or was their love something that most people desired and never found?


BONUS CONTENT

sayings

INKED AVENUE’S VALENTINE’S DAY PLAYLIST

Making this playlist was super hard because OMG there is so much good music lol… but I’ve managed to chose a mix of some of my favorite tunes for Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day Playlist


ULTIMATE SLASHER MOVIE MARATHON

I’m not sure when it started, but I have started this weird tradition of watching horror movies on Valentine’s Day. LOL It’s one of my favorite traditions and I’m looking forward to it this year! Can you say Forever ALONE! haha… help. LOL Don’t get me wrong I watch plenty of Rom-Com’s and tearjerkers, but there is just something about watching a good slasher flick on the most romantic day of the year. Anyway here is my usual line-up…

Side note: I usually only get through about half of this list because I end up falling asleep.

tumblr_lizha01ecr1qhseud

SCREAM

SCREAM 2

SCREAM 3

#WhatsYourFavoriteScaryMovie


51gz9nntuhl

I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER

I STILL KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER


Hope you have enjoyed this extremely long post LOL and that you have an amazing Valentine’s Day!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

