Inked Avenue Reviews… “The Opposite of You” by Rachel Higginson

//The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson//

♥♥♥♥♥

 “I found you, Vera, because I was suppose to find you.”

As a reader, I am constantly searching for novels that hit me with that unexpected burst of dopamine, the novels that cause chills to over take my body, and novels that take my breath away and make my heart rate spike. The ones where the author can take a small moment between two characters and turn it into the most air crackling, angst filled, and world shifting moments. The novels that make reality crumble away leaving you with only the characters and plot of the novel as your new worldview. The Opposite of You accomplished all these goals. This was my first time reading a Rachel Higginson novel, and to say I am now a fan is a serious understatement. I. AM. OBSESSED.

The Opposite Of You - TeaserThis novel is three hundred pages of pure contemporary fairy-tale romance magic. It was tragic and sad, soft and sweet, sexy and alluring, mysterious and alarming. Nothing was predictable or made me feel like I was reading an overused story-line that has been written by a million authors. No, this one was completely original with characters that you crave and secondary characters that you desperately want to know more about. It was the book I didn’t know I needed in my life.

Vera’s past was traumatic and life altering. She was vulnerable, timid, and insecure about her future in the beginning; however, she was willing to take a risk and, while those fears were still lingering, she was finally ready to grab a hold of opportunity and finally become the head chef of her own life. Her growth through out the novel was truly inspiring. She was brave and strong, sassy and classy and… just everything I love from a heroine.

Killian…*sigh* Killian. Killin. Killin. Being that this novel is only written in Vera’s point of view, he was a complete mystery… Which, I have to say, I loved! At first, he is this rude, arrogant, stand-offish guy, but as the story progresses and we learn more about him, we see how his passion, his loyalty, his patience, his kindness and love he shows to those he cares for shines through. He had me swooning from the moment he was written into the story… jerk tendencies and all. Not to mention, the support and drive he inspires in Vera was heartwarming.

These two together were fire! They challenged, inspired, pushed, and baited each other. When they shared a page the air sizzled and sparked and I totally stopped breathing at some points because the moments were so intense. This was all due to the amazing writer that is Rachel Higginson. Her words are inspiring, entertaining, and just… WOW! They hook you from the first sentence and hold you captive until the end.

XX,

Jennifer

P.s.

I was totally salivating over all the delicious food described throughout the novel!

Buy Link:

Amazon


8bb120739f37aa791a4910178c235fc0Synopsis:

I’ve sworn off men.

All men.

Famous last words, right? You’re expecting some epic tale of reluctant love and my dramatic change of heart? Well, you’re not going to get it.

I’m stubborn. And headstrong. And I’ve just survived the worst three years of my life. After escaping an abusive boyfriend to live in hostels and cheap hotels while I worked my way across Europe, I’ve come to two conclusions.

The first? Now that I’m back home, I’m going to squander my expensive culinary degree on a food truck that caters to the late night drunk crowd.

The second? I’m going to prove to the bastard across the plaza that my street food is better than his fussy five course monstrosities.

Killian Quinn might be Food and Wine’s Chef to Watch Out For. He might have a Michelin Star. He might have every food critic in the city wrapped around his too-large fingers. But he’s also pretentious and unbearably arrogant and the very opposite of me.

So he can keep his unsolicited advice and his late night visits and his cocky smiles. I want none of it. Or him.

I want the opposite.


//Author Bio//

61te3rvh-FL._UX250_

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

You can visit Rachel at
rachelhigginson.com  |  Facebook

 

 

Leave a Reply

