Inked Avenue Reviews… “The Difference Between Us” by Rachel Higginson

//The Difference Between Us by Rachel Higginson//

♥♥♥♥♥

“I might not know you yet, but I want to. I want to know all of you.”

The Difference Teaser

Do you ever read a novel and wish that you could erase it from your memory purely for the purpose of getting to experience it all over again for the first time? Well, that is what I desperately wish I could do with this book! The Difference Between Us was EVERYTHING! It’s one of those novels that you want to read start to finish in one sitting with no interruptions. Nothing to distract you from a breathtaking moment, or burst the magical angst filled bubble that was written for our romantic hearts. It was everything I’d hoped it would be but better.

“Ezra Baptiste was one of the most intolerable men I had ever met. Arrogant, condescending, offensively good looking, he had all the qualities of a human I tried to avoid.” 

Everyone’s heard the saying “love at first sight” but that could not be further from the truth when it comes to Ezra Baptiste and Molly Maverick. No, I would say they were more “enemies at first sight.” We first meet the mysterious Ezra and hilarious Molly in The Opposite of You, book one in the Opposites Attract Series, and right away they can’t stand each other. Both being headstrong and confident characters, their witty banter and bickering made for an entertaining read. They baited and challenged each other, driving the other mad with annoyance and sexual frustration. I don’t know how many times I would feel a smile make it’s way up my face or start laughing out loud or gasping in excitement or horror. And that’s when you know you are reading a true gem… when the book physically moves you.

Molly was an amazing character. I found that certain areas of my personality mimicked hers. For example, she is a chameleon of sorts. Being on the shyer side she is able to blend into the background when she is not around her close inner circle, but once her personalty comes out she is this smart, sassy, and snarky character. And I loved that Ezra was able to bring out that completely different side of her. Certain elements of her story are painful and heartbreaking to read, but I appreciated how Higginson was able to navigate those waters with finesse with a real world perspective.

Ezra, on the other hand, a was a complete mystery. Being that this novel was only written in Molly’s POV we were in the dark when it came to him. He is a very closed off man who keeps the world at an arms length with an arrogant air and dominating personality. However, as we learn more about him we see the strong and loyal heart he hides away and the pain he has had to live through. It made getting to know him that much more special and swoon worthy.

“I hated you for not seeming to notice me or be able to tolerate me. From that moment, it was my mission to get your attention, to get you to notice me.”

And the romance! Gah! It did not disappoint. Ezra was very unique in the way he pursued Molly, but when I stop to think about it there is no other way it could have been done. While he was very commanding and demanding, he was always hyper focused on Molly and how to spend more time with her. Wanting her to see a different side of him while he learned everything there was to know about her. There was, also, a beautiful vulnerability in which Higginson pieced together their romance. This wasn’t a insta-love story, thank goodness, so they had to build that friendship, learn to trust one another, and quit denying their inner doubts and fears to overtake their thoughts, in order to emotionally expose their hearts to the other. It was beautiful and exhilarating to read.

I, also, loved the reappearances of characters from The Opposite Of You it gave the novel that extra emotional tie for readers to latch on to. This is without a doubt one of the best books I’ve read this year and I can’t wait for book 3!

XX,

Jennifer


The difference between us 5Synopsis

I’m cursed.

At least when it comes to finding Mr. Right.

I’m tired of men that only want one night stands or blind dates that are nothing but awkward and uncomfortable. I’m tired of avoiding inappropriate text messages and the constant disappointment of always meeting Mr. Wrong.

After all these years of dates that lead nowhere, I can admit that it’s me. I’m the problem. I’m shy and picky and cursed. Definitely cursed.

So I’ve decided two things.

The first? I’m giving up dating and relationships and men in general. Maybe, possibly, forever.

The second? I’m going to have to try harder to avoid Ezra Baptiste.

If I couldn’t hack it in the kiddy pool of dating, I certainly can’t swim in his deep end. He’s too successful. Too intense. He’s all man when I’m used to nothing but boys pretending to be grownups. He’s everything I’m afraid to want and so far out of my league we might as well be different species entirely.

So he’ll need to find a different artist to paint his mural. And a different graphic designer to help him with his website. He’ll need to find someone else to glare at and flirt with and kiss.

It can’t be me.

We’re too different.


//Author Bio//

61te3rvh-FL._UX250_

Rachel Higginson is the best-selling author of The Five Stages of Falling in Love, Every Wrong Reason, Bet on Us and The Star-Crossed Series.

She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days writing stories and raising five amazing kids.

You can visit Rachel at
rachelhigginson.com  |  Facebook

4 thoughts on “Inked Avenue Reviews… “The Difference Between Us” by Rachel Higginson

Leave a Reply

